Friday, November 26, 2010

Afterlife by Claudia Gray

Ok, there is no way to review this book without giving away huge SPOILERS from Hourglass. So, if you are not up to date with the Evernight series do not look down!

After the heartbreak of watching Bianca die, Lucas rushed into a battle against Charity who defeats him and gives him a fateful bite. Bianca, who has actually become a wraith, struggles with herself as she tries to decide whether or not to let him finish the transformation into a vampire. She knows his worst nightmare would be turning into one of the undead but she loves him too much to let him die for good. As expected, he freaks when he wakes up but then he sees that Bianca is not gone. He accepts his fate when he realizes that they can still be together. Throughout this whole book Lucas really stands out as a tried and true hero. He stays strong for Bianca and even Balthazar comes to admire and respect him.
The whole gang heads back to Evernight so that Lucas can learn to deal with what his new life will be like. He and Bianca are content to be together but they each have to adjust to how their relationship has evolved. While back at the school they begin to investigate why Mrs. Bethany has been luring the wraiths to her. There are some startling answers to the mysteries set up throughout this series.

Gray has developed a painstakingly intense love story that overcomes even the tallest obstacles. The unexpected plot twists which are her signature mark really are the most enjoyable parts of the final book in the Evernight series. I was pleasantly surprised on more than one occasion and the ending was especially gratifying.

Reviewed by: Lostnthestacks
This was an advanced readers copy. Afterlife will be released March 8, 2011. Put your copy on hold in March.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...